The 30 Days Writing Challenge

Life won’t change by itself, right?

Rui Yi Gan
3 min readFeb 11, 2022
That’s me!

Why the sudden inspiration?

Just two hours ago I was binging videos of the well-known British YouTube group: Sideman. I was envying their lifestyle and success. And when I scrolled through my homepage I saw videos from other YouTubers like Elliot Choy. This got me thinking hard. These individuals are not much older than me. I’m 22. Elliot is 23? And Harry is 25. It feels weird to say this but I was doubting my life choices. Is there a point in going through 4 years of college and starting working at 25?

But then I realized I was being stupid. Of course, I envy them. These successes don’t come easy. It’s not an overnight success. It looks to be but I’m sure the key to their success is simply consistent dedication. There are probably many stressful, anxiety-filled moments before reaching where they are today. And the thought of that is comforting. Because this means that success is attainable. Of course, luck plays a huge part in their successes as well. They couldn’t have expected their channels to go viral or expect YouTube to pay them so well. But I don’t see a point in bowing down to luck.

If it can’t be controlled anyway, then just ignore it.

--

--

Rui Yi Gan

I enjoy writing about life, college, and everything under the sky. Computer Science student in Singapore and a big fan of Conan O'Brien and Rick Riordan.