My 21st Revolution Around the Sun

Oh, What A Life

Rui Yi Gan
2 min readAug 6, 2021
Life is Tiny Photo by NASA on Unsplash

The Age of Adulting

It is just crazy to think that the earth went around the sun 21 times since my birth. Birthdays seem more familiar, more common. Each year feels shorter.

Finance. Relationships. Career. The Age of Adulting.

Of course, adulting is a gradual process. However, being 21 feels like a milestone, an official welcome to the next chapter.

While part of me is excited because this is the time for me to make my mark, there’s a big part of me that’s worried. I am worried that once I step into the world of adulting, there’s no turning back. There’s no ctrl z. Will I lose my childish self? Will the world become less idealistic?

Growing old feels scary when I was not actually growing within.

But I guess there’s no point worrying. Adulting will come naturally and I will face it eventually. On the bright side, I’m glad and fortunate to live another year. Another year to experience life!

Looking back at the past year, I’m satisfied. There are definitely downs and regrets along the way. However, I’m mostly glad things happened and satisfied with how my past year has been.

And here’s to the highlight…

--

--

Rui Yi Gan

I enjoy writing about life, college, and everything under the sky. Computer Science student in Singapore and a big fan of Conan O'Brien and Rick Riordan.