Introduction to Docker by a College Student

What you need to know about docker and containers for your internship

Rui Yi Gan
6 min readMay 30, 2023
Photo by Rubaitul Azad on Unsplash

My Background with Docker

Before delving into the technical aspects of Docker, I thought it would be good to provide a brief introduction to my experience with Docker. This will allow you to compare your level of exposure and understanding to mine.

My first encounter with Docker was during my frontend internship in my first winter break as a freshman studying Computer Science at the National University of Singapore. At the time, I had no idea what Docker was or how it worked. All I cared about was getting Docker “up and running” so that I could work on the frontend React code, which was the only thing I recognized.

Honestly, I believe that most software engineers can manage if they know only how to get Docker “up and running” without understanding how it works. After all, Docker is mostly an additional tool meant for the convenience of deployment.

However, if you are as confused as I was about what Docker is and how it works, I hope this article will be helpful to you.

What is Docker

Docker is an open platform for developing, shipping, and running applications. Docker enables…

--

--

Rui Yi Gan

I enjoy writing about life, college, and everything under the sky. Computer Science student in Singapore and a big fan of Conan O'Brien and Rick Riordan.